Car Tow Dolly Reviews

Car Tow Dolly Inc. IconCar Tow Dolly Inc.

United States

4.5 282 reviews

  • Avatar Bill Verouden ★★★★ 2 months ago
    I bought a 2020 galvanized model from a couple who used it one time and struggled with keeping straps tight and loading car(older with back issues). Our first trip was a handful just couldn't keep … More straps tight and fought with climbing under the car to attach safety chain(not dolly issue like cookies). Otherwise dolly performs fine. So I went to a welding shop and had tow hooks welded to car frame and dolly now I just snap chain on hook run through guide in frame of dolly and snap to dolly much easier allowing a little slack for cornering The other issue I had was the car wanted to move side to side a bit (few brutal bouncy roads)so back to welding shop and the manufactured side and back stops on a piece of aluminum diamond plate(lightweight) to match outside wheel base that bolted to frame so adjustable if I changed cars(which made loading much easier too)well that seemed to be the holy grail logged 6k miles since modifications and haven't had to tighten straps once. Surge brakes perform well dolly is lightweight easy to move. I run tire pressure monitor on dolly and put about 10k on tires they look good. Only reason for 4 stars is I think dolly should have a carriage to help take off some of the lateral and backward force on the straps in an ideal world you are not always towing flat and sometimes you do hit some big pot holes on the highway
  • Avatar Humberto Buniotto ★★★★★ 3 months ago
    Received it today! Came fast after it shipped. Communication was great and great quality. Excited to hit the road!
  • Avatar Valery Howard ★★★★★ 2 months ago
    We are on our second EZE-Tow car dolly and we wouldn’t use anything else! We had the original version with our first motorhome and never had an issue with it. We only got rid of it when we sold our motorhome … More and got a 5th wheel. Now that we are back in a motorhome, there was no question we were going to get another EZE-Tow car dolly.
    We were leaving for a cross-country round trip so I emailed the company to get a better idea of delivery time to make sure we would get the dolly in time for our trip. The owner, Richard responded himself and guaranteed we’d have it in time, and we did! We towed our 2018 Chevy Colorado ZR2 from NW California to Georgia and all around the southeast. When the brake light wasn’t working properly and I emailed the company for suggestions, they were so kind to help as best they could through email. We finally ended up taking the dolly back to their shop in NC since we were near there already (visiting family about 50 miles away). Richard and Patrick were both so kind and helpful, diligently checking and testing things properly to make sure there were no other issues. They found a broken wire and fixed it and then went around checking and tightening all the bolts around the dolly as well.
    This is a wonderful, privately owned small business that we are proud to support. We made it safely back to our work location in NW California again so our recent 6-week trip totaled 6,900 miles! EZE-Tow dolly is definitely the way to go!!
  • Avatar adam hikel ★★★★★ a year ago
    Great Tow Dolly, we've used It to tow our 2012 Beetle behind the RV, and to haul or 73 Beetle from place to place behind our truck. It's easily adaptable to all our applications. Easy to use … More and light enough to maneuver around and put in storage. It takes up so little space.
    The adjustable straps are holding up very well and are adjustable to a wide range of tire sizes and width. The Dolly is light and easily maneuverable when empty. We opted for the Surge Brakes and they are terrific.
    We are very happy with our tow Dolly, set up took no time at all and maintenance is a snap.
    I have no worries this tow Dolly will be around a while.
  • Avatar Carl Lowe ★★★★★ a year ago
    Straight up one of the best buying experiences online I have ever made. The website was exactly what the product turned out to be. I am extremely happy with my tow dolly and have put over 5,000 miles on … More it with absolutely no problems or issues. The crating of the tow dolly was great! This company is very straight forward and sets a standard that I compare other companies by. Great job!
  • Avatar Bob Covey ★★★★★ a year ago
    The dolly is simple and very rugged. The surge brakes work; you can see it on the rotor surfaces, so don't believe anyone who says they don't.
    We've towed ours for six years full timing,
    … More over 60,000 miles and about 300 campgrounds. In that time we blew one of the discontinued 10" tires on I70, and lost a couple of taillights to vibration. The owner made us a great offer to switch to the 12" wheels and tires and we have run through a couple of sets of tires with no issues. The taillights are a stock item available at most auto parts stores and Amazon. Add zip ties to keep them in the mounts, everything takes a real pounding as our interstate highways slowly expire.
    I have two gripes with the design: the ramps are a PITA to have to remove and replace, but they are very secure and rugged, so I guess there is a trade off there. Secondly, there is no trailer jack like on a boat trailer. I welded on a plate and added a cheap trailer jack to make it easier to move the dolly around a camp site. A factory design would be nice.
  • Avatar Mark F. ★★★★★ 3 months ago
    When I ordered the galvanized dolly bundle I was told it would ship end of January. Now I’m being told a 4-6 week back order. Any other hiccups I should know about ??
    5/5/21 Received my dolly about a month
    … More ago. Owner explained parts delay because of Covid, understandable. Pleasantly surprised how accurately these are constructed. All the parts fit together perfectly ! Am extemely happy with this unit. Would recommend this unit to onyone considering a car tow dolly. Especially that the ramps come off ( & are stowable on the unit) making is possible to stand up in my garage out of the way.
  • Avatar Bill Guernsey ★★★★★ a year ago
    I can't understand why anyone would buy a different brand. For me, being able to pick up the tongue and move this around by myself is a huge plus. I'm closing in on seventy. Hooking up the car … More on the dolly is the same as on other dollies I suppose. Once on the road I can't feel any difference than without the dolly. My only concern when buying this dolly was the tire size. After using the dolly to pull a Mazda 3, I see that they are perfect. Low weight and high load rating. Another plus is the resale value. Overall I'm very happy with this purchase.
  • Avatar Mike Lawrence ★★★★★ a year ago
    Excellent company. Love my tow dolly. Super easy to use . Really I don’t even know the car is back there. I find myself checking the back up camera to make sure it’s there. Mine has surge brakes and they … More work fantastic. Well made product. Super easy to use I highly recommend.
  • Avatar Evan Croft ★★★★★ a year ago
    We've had the car dolly for six years and used it for about 30,000 miles. It tracks nicely. It's light so I can handle it by myself. Hydraulic brakes are great; I don't feel a push from … More behind when braking. The only maintenance has been a new set of tires and a new set of straps.
    Once in a great while, I find a strap has come off the wheel. It could be because of a sharp turn or emergency stop, both cause the tire to compress perhaps enough for the strap to fall,. Not a problem since one strap does the job and the safety chains are there.
    I've seen others in my travels and one owner told me how to fasten the bitter end of the safety chain so it would stay and not drag. I also added a lock to the hitch to prevent vandalism.
    So far so good.
  • Avatar Matthew Rogers ★★★★★ a year ago
    One of the first (and best) investments I made for my RV lifestyle. It's about as easy as can be. I'm a huge fan and 5 stars all the way.
  • Avatar David Jones ★★★★★ a year ago
    I purchased a car tow dolly from this business in 2019 and I can't say enough good things about it. From the time it arrived the quality and professionalism were evident. I used this dolly for many … More trips pulling my Honda Fit behind my motorhome last year. I have not had a single issue with it. The ease in which I connect and disconnect the vehicle from the dolly is fantastic. I highly recommend this tow dolly to anyone.
  • Avatar Howard J. ★★★★★ a year ago
    After extensive research into the various types of Tow Dollies made in the U.S.A. from unrealistically expensive and heavy as a small car to designs that didn't appear to be able to hold up to long … More time use, we purchased a dolly from this company. Not only did it meet our expectations when it arrived via freight protected in a oak/hardwood pallet that later became a great source of firewood but, after 12K miles being pulled behind our Class C motorhome, loading and unloading our Prius C is quick, uncomplicated and makes RVing so much easier and less expensive than going the "4 on the Road" route. Not only was this the perfect purchase for our needs but, the after purchase customer service provided by this company is truly world-class with the customer's needs being met with a smile (at least that what it seemed via emailing) and a old time sense of customer service rarely seen these day. With all this said, would I recommend to a dear friend doing business with Car Tow Dolly Inc, a resounding YES.
  • Avatar Bob & Sylvia Schurr ★★★★ a year ago
    After research, I bought this tow dolly because I like the price and the fact it was lighter, more maneuverable and replacement parts were easily available at local parts store or online.
    I went to the
    … More factory to pick it up and to get everything set up for my auto and motor home.The folks there were outstanding , friendly and very helpful. They had all needed for installation and did an outstanding job.
    Great tow dolly! Tows well! Hardly notice that I am towing any thing. I have a Chevy Spark that I tow and one problem I have is that it has a small tire and even with the new straps, that are fully adjustable, I still am at the limit for tightening. I have to increase tire air pressure to make more room to tighten down the tires and wheels.
    By biggest complaint is securing my vehicle to the dolly because of the lack of space between the tire and wheel wells. Also crawling under the vehicle to secure the safety chains to the vehicle.
    Also, because of the close quarters between the tires and wheel well as well as the location of a wheel strut, the cross straps have a tendency to rub and wear, causing a potential safety hazard. I have to purchase an entire set of straps instead of just the cross straps, which gets expensive.
    With that said, the company is very efficient and speedy in sending replacement parts. They usually ship the same day or at the latest the next business day.
    I purchased the extended warrantee and extra tire. To me it was well worth the price. As for the dolly itself, I purchased the model with the surge brakes and they work well. As for maintenance, there is none except for washing and touch up painting as needed.
    All in all a solid dolly and a good buy from a good company. The only thing I would like to see is to be able to purchase the cross straps or the longitudinal straps separately or as a set on an as needed basis. I would purchase extra cross straps considering they have a tendency to rub against the struts.
  • Avatar Barb McCaskill ★★★★★ a year ago
    We ordered online. When we went to pick it up, they went over everything thoroughly. We were trained on every aspect from hooking up to maneuvering to unhooking. The dolly has performed very well. Great … More company, great product.
  • Avatar Robert Lehman ★★★★★ a year ago
    Dolly was everything I expected; welded, solid, and I appreciate having the hydraulic brakes. Blew a tire on the first trip, and I was glad I purchased a spare. However, owners sent me 2 tires mounted … More on rims just because they were concerned the batch might have been bad. But no problems since.
    I pull a Fiat 500, and it doesn't weigh much -- 1100#. It would bounce around on the dolly and so I have added two safety features.
    1. The safety chain is supposed to stay in the grove, but it didn't. So now I pass the chains through the hole and then padlock it to itself.
    2. But I didn't like the Fiat bouncing back , so just to make me feel better, I have two straps rated for 5000# that I feed through the slotted Fiat wheels and then attach in front of the dolly with a quick link.
    I store the dolly on its end and push it against the fence.
    Couldn't be more pleased with the dolly.
  • Avatar Alex Mendoza ★★★★★ a year ago
    When we decided to buy a car tow dolly we looked everywhere we could and after a couple of months researching we found that we would go with Car Tow Dolly. It was shipped quickly and I was impressed of … More how well it was packed to ship and easy to unload and actually ready to use right away. Everything about this Car Tow Dolly is good and easy to work with, it might take a little time to hook and unhook the vehicle but it works well. The secret behind this Car Dolly is that you have to take your time and don't rush it that way everything works well as far as safety is concerned. When I store it it goes well in the garage standing on its tires upright and all I do is add two tire rubber stops and sometimes a rope to the ceiling for more safety in case of an earthquake or something. It comes with everything, I even got a spare tire. Cool ! Thank you. Alex
  • Avatar Randall Garrison ★★★★ a year ago
    Online ordering was a breeze.
    Delivery was easy and simple. Delivered directly to my residence.
    Unpacked from crate and was basically ready to use.
    Trailer is a little heavier than I thought, makes
    … More it little hard to maneuver empty. Loading grates are heavy as well. But well built.
  • Avatar Jose Jimenez ★★★★ a year ago
    Very sturdy and well made. It was quite ample towing a Dodge Grand Caravan for many thousands of miles over the last 3 years. They were rather generous in dealing with my original purchase. They had … More some difficulty in explaining the rapid wear on the dolly tires, but I finally figured that one out. The front wheels of the toad must be allowed to turn or one gets much lateral wear on the dolly tires. They were not aware of this and I lost both tires within 5000 miles. After replacing the tires, the wear was vastly improved. Would buy again. Also watch out for the lifting handle on the dolly. If you are not paying attention you can drive it through a plastic bumper backing up.
  • Avatar Harvey Walters ★★★★★ a year ago
    I purchased my dolly directly at the factory in 2015. Taking delivery at the factory was great as the team there was very helpful in setting up the dolly and providing hands-on training for its proper … More use; not that it wouldn't have worked remotely but that was a nice plus. Overall it has worked very well and I've been very pleased with its performance and am very happy that I made the decision to go with two-wheels up towing rather than dealing with the expense of modifications and a braking system for flat towing.
  • Avatar David Franco ★★★★★ a year ago
    Car Tow Dolly has been an excellent choice to tow our 2014 Fiat Lounge. It is easy to load and unload. It also tracks well behind our RV.
    Their truck delivery is great. They have good company support and
    … More also have videos to show you how to load and unload your vehicle on to their Car Tow Dolly. Well made product.
  • Avatar John Christian ★★★★★ a year ago
    Purchase experience was easy. Shipping was easy. I picked it up at the local truck terminal without any problem. Assembly was very straightforward, even though I did not realize I needed to download the … More assembly instructions from the web, they really were not needed. Bleeding the brakes was the only part I was not sure about, but that too is rather simple. I have not yet actually used the dolly yet, but I am confident it will perform well. It is well made and impressive. By it being 100% galvanized, I am sure it will last for many years.
  • Avatar Paul Shryock ★★★★★ a year ago
    We have had our Acme tow dolly for a few years, and have put over 20k trouble-free miles on it. The only issue we have had was with the tail lights (cable was cut by road debris). I contacted Acme and … More they sent me new lights under the extended warranty right away. They have been great to work with. The Acme tow dolly was a great choice for us.
  • Avatar beth wolff ★★★★★ a year ago
    Excellent quality product , very light but very well built. It tows like a dream and is very easy to move around when empty.
    Also very easy to store since you can stand it upright .
    Nice folks to deal
    … More with .
  • Avatar Randy Bulkley ★★★★★ a year ago
    This is the Best Car Dolly I have owned. I have 2006 Grand prix which is a wide track and 5" of ground clearance. With proper hitch hight it's very easy to load and strap down.
  • Avatar Skip Kincaid ★★★★★ a year ago
    Dolly - SS!! SUPERB SUPPORT!
    We are now a 5 year, 98,000 mile full time RV family we dolly our 2015 Chrysler Town & Country behind our V10 Bounder 35E gas motorhome. We chose the Acme Tow Dolly in
    … More 2015 to keep our “toad load” under 5,000 pounds. We added 2 TPMS tire pressure sensors on dolly tires and 2 on the toad rear tires. Great combo.
    We replace dolly tires every 10k-12k miles and run 70-80psi in them.
    Acme has supported us in all the 48 USA states!! It’s great when you call and you remember the staff by name and parts shipping is prompt!
    We Love ❤️ our CARTOW DOLLY!
  • Avatar Mike Debs ★★★★ a year ago
    Overall, I have been very happy with my Acme Tow Dolly. We purchased our tow dolly in 2016 and have about 30,000 miles on it. I really like the simple design and the fact that I can store it upright … More in my garage or underneath my motor home when we are using it. It is very easy to use. We have had issues with the tow dolly, we had to replace the LED lights and we have had to replace a fender. To be fair, the issue with the fender may have been caused by the fact that I did not have the tires balanced when I replaced them. Each time I have had an issue the owner of the company has been very helpful and has shipped me new parts free of cost and explained what I needed to do to complete the repair. In addition, he has make recommendations regarding how to avoid the issues in the future.
  • Avatar Larry Coppock ★★★★ a year ago
    I am a previous owner of an Acme tow dolly and was totally satisfied so when it was destroyed in a fire I decided to buy another. This is my initial take on dolly and problems I encountered during assembly. … More The dolly arrived still in the crate with the yoke and support “L” beams not attached. The crate was crushed making parts removal rather difficult. Putting together this version was nothing like the previous version. Though not complex, no instructions were provided with the shipment nor after requesting them. Because of the self locking nuts it’s best to have plenty muscle to tightly secure them, or better yet, an impact wrench. Don’t assume anything and check everything. Because the brake line to the main cylinder was part of the main arm I assumed the brake line would have been hooked up to the main cylinder. It wasn’t and resulted in brake fluid being pumped onto the floor. Not only was it not hooked up to the cylinder but there was also a leaked at one of the disc brakes. The brake bleeding process is not hard and adequate directions are supplied with the instructions for the hydraulic brake actuators. You will find a need for two wrenches in all cases not involving an impact wrench. Even with an impact wrench another wrench is required due to the nature of the holes. All major holes are round therefore requiring a wrench to hold one side while the other is being tightened. Should bolts with square seating have been used with square frame holes the process would have been much simpler though not easier in the muscle capacity. Lastly, if the unit is to be stored in it’s advertised upright position it requires the wheels be chalked so they don’t move while trying to raise the it into position. Chalks need to be low profile as they might otherwise interfere with the fenders as was my case using 4” high chalks. Even with the chalks in place I had a heck of a time raising the dolly into it’s end position. About mid-way the weight becomes substantial and if it can’t be handled trouble can occur. Best to have an extra set of muscles. Now that it’s together and I feel confident I’ve not missed anything having no checklist or instructions I’m ready for the road. I’ve confidence this dolly will perform as advertised if it preforms similar to my previous dolly. If not, another review will occur.
  • Avatar 1D10CRACY . ★★★★★ a year ago
    Purchased this to tow my Chevy Volt behind my RV. I chose this model because of a few things. First, its made here in the USA, and I love supporting local companies! Second, the design! I wanted surge … More brakes, as I didn't want to add a brake controller to my RV. I wanted a fixed dolly, my car is a newer model and the steering wheel isn't lockable. I also wanted galvanized, as I live in a rust belt! Its light, easy to handle, and works very well for what I need! I was worried over one reviewer who mentioned he had a volt, but I must assure you, he is wrong. Had he read his manual or did a little bit of online digging, he would of learned Volts have a "Transport Mode", it basically puts the volt into a deep sleep. Also pulling the 12 volt battery isn't "Volt Suicide", its actually recommended in GMs service manual when working on the 12v system, I do it all the time. As for the unit itself, its light enough to man handle, but sturdy enough o hull even the heaviest cars! I will be doing a full Utube review on this in the next few months when the weather breaks!
  • Avatar Jeffrey Peterson ★★★★★ a year ago
    For the first trip with the new tow dolly, we went to the coast (700+ miles round trip) carrying our Honda Odyssey (4500 lbs). The tow dolly worked great, it was easy to pull and set up with our RV. Build … More quality is great, most of the drive was rainy and windy so the new Galvanized coating was great and appears to hold up well to road grim and water. Customer Service was great to work with for some shipping issues. Looking forward to many more trips.
  • Avatar Mike Kersh ★★★★★ a year ago
    It is a pleasure using the EZ-Tow-Dolly to tow a 2011 Mini-Clubman behind our RV. One of our mods is attaching permanent chain rings to the mini's subframe to make attaching safety chains easier. … More Another mod is to replace the balancing beads in the dolly's tires to eliminate potential valve stem issues. Had Big-O-Tire do the work. Beads are now significantly larger in diameter. We keep it looking "new" with Rustoleum Black Gloss(can). We have towed the mini 8-10 thousand miles, much of it thru severe winter conditions. Highly recommend over all other brands. Car Tow Dolly Inc. customer service has been outstanding when questions arose initially.
  • Avatar David Andrews ★★★★★ a year ago
    I purchased my tow dolly in early 2019 and as of this writing in November I am quite pleased. I have towed a Prius at least 4-thousand miles behind both an Expedition and my motorhome. I like its light … More weight and of rugged construction. I also like how easy it is for one person to move it around and to store it upright. It handles well while towing and if it weren't for my rear view camera I wouldn't even know it was behind me. I love the self balancing tires. And I appreciate how easy the ramps are to stow and unload. I did have a minor problem when the wire that holds the nut on the winch (for tightening the straps) came out but, that was easy enough to replace.
  • Avatar Danny Anderson ★★★★★ a year ago
    Very pleased with this dolly. I pull a 2019 Ford Transit Connect with my RV and with the hydraulic brakes to help on downgrades it’s a great asset. The adjustable ramps sets it above any other dolly made. … More Add quality construction and excellent customer service, you have the best of all worlds.
  • Avatar Robert Hoffman ★★★★★ a year ago
    The Acme tow dolly that I have is a 2014 model with 10,000 miles on it. It has been a dependable tow dolly and I like several features about it. The storaway ramps and the low profile allow me to store … More it easily underneath my motorhome. I also like the self-balancing wheels. My wife and I can hook or unhook the car within 15 minutes. The customer service deserves a five star rating. They get back to me quickly when I have a question.

View Google Reviews